This is the day after I learnt I have breast cancer…and except for getting a little emotional when I told my boss, I have been fine. I think I am going to go on and pretend that I’ll be ok until I am not really.

I got a call from the nurse this morning to confirm my MRI appointment for Monday at 7am and I’m glad to see they really do take it seriously and don’t mess about. Which means I will probably get the surgery done within the next couple weeks…providing all is according to what they expect, which I really hope it will.

So today has been a good day. I have been busy at work which provides a really good distraction and doesn’t allow me to get in my head. I am invited to a house party tonight where there will be a lot of my work colleagues (some know, most don’t) and after the news yesterday, I wasn’t sure if I was going to go…but today, I thought “what the heck?” it’s not going to make me worse and it’s better than sitting at home, alone, and feeling sorry for myself and now that I know the MRI isn’t until Monday I might even allow myself a glass of wine or 2. After all, it might be the last time I can enjoy a drink for a while as I don’t think it will be particularly recommended with the medication I am going to have to take.

