So on the up side, we have hair growth, the return – although shyly – of the sunshine, the end of chemotherapy and having to go to hospital so often, my friends S and JLM upcoming visit, my summer holidays booked (going home), being invited to my friend SB’s wedding in November (meaning dress shopping -woop woop!)…

On the down side, I had my MRI last Sunday – now don’t go panicking around that it didn’t go well…it was fine. I don’t have the results for it but I already know that my lump has shrunk so I am not expecting any bad news from that! –  no, the problem comes from the fact that the nurse couldn’t canulate me via the veins in my arm as he couldn’t find one (usual problem) so he used one on my hand – I will say “Ouch!!” as it hurt like a b*tch when he inserted the needle and then when I laid down, it moved about and hurt some more – but I thought that was that.
Sunday I saw that I had a nice purple bruise on my hand but it was kind of expected. I naturally bruise easily and with the blood thinners I have to take this has increased even more… What I didn’t expect is that on Tuesday I noticed that the side of my forearm had develop a red patch, following the line of what I think is the vein which was used and that my arm had swollen a bit. Damn. Looks like its inflamed. I call the Breast Care unit to report it and as I am due to hospital today for an ultrasound, I thought maybe I can pop round to see the doc about it…

Well yes and no…The doc will see me but she is not available anywhere near the time of my ultrasound (3pm) and can only see me at 1.30pm! Oh for Pete’s sake! So I have the joy and privilege to have to go to hospital twice today….or if I have to wait around for the pharmacy, wait for the next appointment. Luckily, work is flexible and it is a straight train ride between the office and hospital (only 10 mins) but at this time of day, there is only a train every 30 mins….timing is everything!

Saying that…the balance is definitely siding with the Ups so overall, I can’t really complain…well, not until I know what’s up with my arm and if it can be cleared easy or if I am going to have to take some more medication! Hopefully it won’t affect potential dates for the operation either!

