It is probably a post I should have done after I got started losing my hair but I actually didn’t think of it at the time….or maybe I was too busy thinking about chemotherapy that it didn’t occur to me!

It has been 2 weeks and a bit since I have finished chemotherapy and my hair has been growing back at the speed of light…well at least that’s how it feels! Not only on my head but all over – although other parts of my body, the hair is slower to grow back…thankfully as I quite enjoyed not having to shave my legs every other day!!

Anyway, today, I have received a lot of compliments on a) my cropped hair – I trimmed my hair at the weekend as it was starting to look a little fuzzy around the ears! and b) my earrings. So I thought I’d share that with you…especially as I read a post from Michelle where she talked about being hairless and how hard it is to deal with it at times (http://killerboobies.wordpress.com/2013/04/29/my-trip-to-richmond-measured-in-important-moments-in-hairlessness/). I thought I had it a lot easier as I didn’t feel any pressure to hide under a beanie, a scarf or a wig but then I am a little older and I have had time to come to term with my own body and I am a lot more confident with it than I was when I was 25 and I didn’t have to deal with cancer at that age!

24.12.12 - Day after I shaved my head the first time. 3 weeks after the first chemo
24.12.12 – Day after I shaved my head the first time. 3 weeks after the first chemo

So here it is…how do I rock the short hair? Well I “accessorise” my face 🙂 For that I use big earrings and chunky necklaces…not at the same time though!

I wish I taken more pictures of me with my crazy earrings. I went on a Google search ages ago to see what was the norm fashion wise when you have short hair and I was pleased to see that many fashionistas were down for big earrings despite the lack of hair, providing you had the chops to wear them! Lucky for me I do and I have loads…It also boosted me to go shopping and that can’t be wrong, can it?

With the picture below, you can see how my hair has changed from what it looked back in December. Although I never lost it all, it was quite sparse for a long time and the only reason I wore a hat or beanie was because it was so cold!

Comparing the 2 pictures you can also see that my eyebrows got thinner but didn’t disappear altogether, which allowed me to keep looking healthy enough.

30.04.13 - Everyone loved my feather earrings today!
30.04.13 – Everyone loved my feather earrings today!

I’ll get some more pictures with my other crazy earrings so you can see how just because you don’t have the luscious locks you had before, it doesn’t mean you can’t have fun with accessories! Be bold, be beautiful!

 

 

 

 

 

*** Update***

As promised, more big earring showcase!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

