I had my long awaited appointment with my surgeon – Ms M –  on Thursday last week (25/04/13 – which incidentally was a big day in the office as it was release day and I had a couple of glasses of champers before I went to my appointment! Ooops). I say long awaited as for me, it now feels like ages since I have completed my chemo treatment but in reality it had only been a couple weeks.

She was very pleased to see how well I looked, especially that she hasn’t seen me since I started chemo on 7th December. She confirmed that the MRI and Ultrasound had shown that the lump had shrunk by at least 1 cm for the size but also the mass was lighter. She examined me and said she couldn’t really feel it which was really good.

I was relieved because the few times I had seen her before that, she had always given me bad and worse news from what I was expecting! After a quick chat with her, I met with the Breast Care Nurse, S, who hadn’t seen much since I had started chemo. She was very sweet and gushed in all the right places on how well I look. Well, I do look well and I do look good, if you don’t mind me saying so :). She didn’t have a chance to check out the calendar to give me a surgery date but she explained a little more in details what was going to happen.

Wire localisation Xray
Wire localisation Xray

First I am going to have a pre-surgery assessment with a nurse where they are going to do the usual checks (blood pressure, blood test, weight, height etc). This has been booked for Monday 13th May. The I will have an appointment with Ms M the day before the surgery to sign consent form, make sure I am still in good health and also to insert a wire in my chest. Yes, that is a new thing. Apparently, because my tumour is now all but un”feelable”, they need to make sure open up at the right place so they will insert a wire which will hook on the coil I already have and will come out of my chest….mmmm lovely (click here if you want to read more about wire localisation lumpectomy).

Wide excision or lumpectomy
Wide excision or lumpectomy

Then the following day (21st May), I will need to check in at the Day Surgery Centre of Kings College to wait for my surgery. It will be performed under general anaesthetic but is supposed to be a quick affair as I am schedule to go home that same day. In addition to the lumpectomy, they will also remove more of the axilary lymph nodes as when they did the biopsy back in November, one of the 4 they took

Axillary Node Removal
Axillary Node Removal

out was infected (the very first one). Back then they talked about taking them all out as a precaution but at the last appointment, Ms M mentioned only removing more of them not all of them. I have to say that I much prefer if they don’t take them all as the risk of lymphoedema increase with that and that’s not something I particularly want to have to deal with. Saying that, Ms M said that she hasn’t had a case of lymphoedema since she was at medical school and it was a long time ago… If you want to know more about lymphoedema, then you should read Helen’s blog (http://lymphnodetransplant.wordpress.com/) – she knows all about it having suffered from it for a long time.

So another waiting period starts for me. I am glad I finally have a date as it means I can really plan around it. I am due to participate to Race for Life on 1st June and when I mentioned it to Ms M, she said it shouldn’t be a problem even to run it as long as I have a good support bra – damn, my excuse for not running it has just been shot down!

Few weeks following my op, I will start radiotherapy but I’ll talk about that later as for now, it’s the next step and I don’t really want to think about what come next…not in my nature 🙂

race4lifeTSo there you have it peeps! Another notch down on the wall where “beating cancer up” is written…or as my lovely friend K said the “sticking your tongue out to cancer”…that’s the slogan of the T’s she had made for the team running Race for Life with me (how cute is that? And yes, that’s me, with hair and an attitude…although the hair is gone for now, the attitude remains…thankfully!)

