One more week and I will be officially free of the dreaded lump.

Today I am off to see the nurse for my pre-op check up – although I am a bit surprised that they do it a week before, last time it was done one day before. Still, this is step one of Operation Lumpectomy.

Next Monday I will meet with the surgeon and the anaesthetist to sign the consent form and make sure I understand what the operation consist of. They will also probably insert the wire in my chest then.

The big day is on Tuesday 21st May. I am to report to the Day Surgery Unit of King’s College Hospital at 12.30 and then wait my turn. Last time I was there was when they did the Sentinel Node Biopsy at about the same time. I went through really quickly then and by 5pm I was ready to be picked up by my friends CN & TN.

This time around, CN will come pick me up alone as TN has gone back to work and will probably not be back yet. I am scheduled to stay at their house for the night as I need to be “under surveillance” for the first 24 hours. Both have been extremely supportive and helpful, considering they have a wee boy just 7 months and it’s not always easy to be new parents.

People have asked me if I was nervous about the operation but I can trully say that no, I am not. I trust my doctors and my own body to deal with it. This is a fairly routine operation for my surgeon. She probably has performed hundreds of them (if not more). I just hope that I will not have to deal with cording or lymphoedema afterwards…that is my biggest worry of all and the scary part is that it can happen years after. Then again, it  may not as we all know my glass is always half full, especially if it has Pouilly Fuisse in it 🙂

I am quite glad that I am a natural optimist as all of this would have been a lot harder if I wasn’t. So I will follow my usual pattern. I think about cording and lymphoedema but I won’t worry too much about it. After all, there isn’t much I can do about it except follow the physio’s exercises to help prevent it.

Now to see the nurse who will probably struggle to find a vein to take my blood….again *sigh*

