(aka my first daily prompt)

I am very much a woman of my time. I have taken to technology like a fish takes to water and I am considered a “geek” by my less technology inclined friends. I use social media to keep in touch, although I am still not sure how useful Twitter is and although I don’t have to have the latest gadget, I am not far behind – I like to wait until 2nd or 3rd generation so other people have dealt with the bugs.

Amstrad computer (Google images)
Amstrad computer (Google images)

I do still remember the days of rotary dial, tape cassettes and VHS. I even still remember the days of black and white television and the first Amstrad game consoles. This makes me feel old. They make me nostalgic but they do not make me regret those “simpler” days.

I am a woman of my time – cancer free and active. Recently I have  benefited tremendously of the advance in medicine. 20 years, my breast cancer would have probably killed me or at least made me a lot sicker than it did. I probably would have had to have many more chemotherapy treatment and spent many a day hunched over the toilet bowl and looked like a shadow of myself…in this day and age, I have managed to keep living my life like all I had was a bad cold. The advance in medicine meant that detection was done early, treatment was targeted and side effects were managed.

Google images
Google images

I am a woman of my time…free, independent and empowered. 20 years ago, I would be called a spinster with disapproving tones or with looks that pitied me. My openness about not wanting to make babies would be frowned upon and I would still be expected to fit in the box reserved for female in administration. I would probably be patronised more often by male managers and not given the options that I have today.

Photo courtesy of Google images
Photo courtesy of Google images

So despite all that, would I live an any other era? Well I wouldn’t mind trying out the future…I would like to see if cancer will be finally cured, if the technology we see in sci-fi movies of today will definitely make their appearances for the masses. Will the future be bleak and scary like in Judge Dredd or will it be more utopic, clean and safe? Will we implode ourselves or will we finally see the errors of our way and become a civilisation with great philosophy, arts and technology which improve the quality of life for every one? I am a woman of my time but I am also an optimist and I hope we will better ourselves and regret that I will most certainly never see it…unless someone really get “cryogenisation” working or maybe get a Delorean hooked up to the future…

Daily Prompt: 21st Century Citizen | Modern 

