oh, no hang on, it was the other around….nevermind…

(Google images)
(Google images)

So I went for my pre-radiotherapy meeting at St Thomas Hospital. The hospital is quite close to where I work but I still managed to get myself lost when I got off the bus. Somehow, I missed the massive hospital behind me and went on the other direction, thank Brian for phone GPS I say.

Luckily I had given myself plenty of time to get there so I wasn’t late and they always make you wait anyway.

This appointment was to discuss the radiotherapy programme and for them to do a CT scan for their records. After a quick chat with the radiotherapy nurse where he checked my ID (we wouldn’t want someone else to try to get my treatment) and that I knew and understood the risks of radiotherapy (not a fun list but apparently only 2 of the potential side effects are most common) and that it was my signature at the bottom of the consent form, he sent me back to wait for the scan. He did give me my radiotherapy schedule and it looks like I will be starting on 25th July and most of my appointments are around 5pm. Some will be a little earlier or a little later but generally speaking, 5pm is the time. Apparently it only takes about 15 mins (including set up) so it is a little annoying that I couldn’t get it later in the day. Thankfully, my boss is quite understanding and if I start my day earlier I should not lose too much work time as it will take at least 20-30 mins for me to get there.

My last session is planned for 27th August, just after our Summer Bank holiday…good thing I was planning on going anywhere for this one either!

CT-Scan
This is what a CT scanner looks like in case you didn’t know

It is not the first CT scan that I had. I had to have one before I started chemotherapy but it was for my heart more than for my breasts and. This time I had to lie with my arms above my head and they took very precise measurements. Then they went on about putting a “permanent mark” on my skin. Just a couple of dots. “How permanent is permanent?” I asked. The lady who was doing the marking, showed me a little black dot on her wrist “See this dot? I made it in ’98”. “aaah, so it’s a tattoo then?” “Well except that I am not as talented” she replied….oh boy. It’s not painful when they do it, although she was under the impression that the one dot she made between my breasts, on the sternum would be. However, now I have what looks like a permanent blackhead there. The attendant had said it would look like a freckle but that’s a freckle on steroid! The other 2 dots (one on either sides of my chest) are barely visible but this one is like a beacon! Not ideal.

My friend MSM jokingly said that I will have to get myself a proper tattoo to cover it up once I am done with it…I never thought of getting a tat there but I might now… The scan only lasted 10 mins and I was out of there.

Fromentine (France), the bay and the Noirmoutier bridge, view from the beach
Fromentine (France), the bay and the Noirmoutier bridge, view from the beach

Now I can go relax on my holiday at home with my family! I will get to enjoy the sea, a little bit of sun (but safely I promise) and a reasonable amount of rose wine (Le Fief Vendeen is a speciality from my area). Add to that a sprinkle of a fancy dress party and some quality time with my favourite (only) nephew and I am expecting some holiday good times!

I can’t guarantee that I will have much to post whilst I am off – maybe some silly pictures 🙂 so hopefully you won’t miss me too much!Happy summer y’all!

Me and the nephew (2010)
Me and the nephew (2010)
