When you were 10, what did you want to be when you grew up? What are you? Are the two connected?

I am not sure I was really 10 years old but the earliest job I remember wanted to have was nurse. I was already aware then that I was being raised by older people and I wanted to become a nurse so I could look after my Nan when she was ill…Awwww sweet, I hear you whisper.

My Nan is my hero and at 81 she is still rocking and hasn’t needed a nurse so far…that’s good because I never became one. Like many other children of my generation, I had no idea what to do with my life so I fell into a profession instead of answering a calling. I am an office manager, and although I don’t dispense any medicine, sometimes I feel like a carer for my colleagues who don’t always seem to find their elbow from their nose…

If I could do it again, I still wouldn’t become a nurse…not that it isn’t a worthy profession but I don’t think I’d have the strength to deal with all that red tape. I admire their dedication and they care. And I know what I am talking about as I have seen my fair share over the last 9 months. Some are nicer than others but generally, they are people who deserve to be thanked way more than they do!

As for me, I would be love to be a writer or a photographer…something less prosaic than an office worker…People say it is not too late but the truth is I like the comfort that my 9-5 job brings me and I like that when I leave the building I don’t have to think about work until the next morning…You can’t always do what you dream of but that’s not a reason to stop dreaming, or to be unhappy about your life.

 

Pingback:  http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/08/05/daily-prompt-dreams/

