A good soul just reminded me that it had been a while since I had posted.

Last time (June 2014), I had just gotten the news that my new meds combo (Letrozole/Femara + Zoladex) was doing the tricks in keeping my nasty little lung mets at bay. Weyhey for me. So what has been happening to me since?

I have been on holidays to my home town with my gorgeous nephew and decided to celebrate turning 40 again with a BBQ! It was a holiday packed with stuff and I nearly needed a holiday to recover from it 🙂 Saying that, I was very good and kept away from the sun as much as I could even though I always loved to get a tan. I slept a lot, although not always well – turns out heat wave and hot flushes don’t make good bed buddies, who would have thought? We went on a day trip on a island nearby and cycled around it on one of the hottest day of the month, we went to a nice restaurant where I had a whole kilo of mussels to myself and then we went a on helicopter ride – not my first time but it was for my nephew and he loved it!

I felt great and refreshed from that holiday, although I had noticed that I had started to feel a bit stiff in my hands and feet. This, my lovelies, is one of the known side effects of Letrozole and as we have a history of arthritis in my family, I guess it’s not helping. My hands and feet have swollen a bit so I can’t wear some of my rings any more and it takes a couple minutes before I can walk without looking like I am 95. It’s worth in the morning as I get out of bed but it is not painful enough for me to take any pain killers. I have read a few articles and blogs from ladies who are particularly suffering and I think I have it relatively mild and it’s actually getting better (or maybe I am getting used to it?). My shoulders used to hurt too but not anymore, not since I have stop Pump classes which I think were actually bad.

Before I went away, I had started to get cording in my right arm again and it was painful to stretch my arm…but 2 weeks with a 6 years old who wants to play racket ball all the time seems to have cured me of that!

Life is good at the moment, I feel full of beans, I go to the gym 2-3 times a week (no more Pump but boxing and body combat classes are great for cardio), I try to eat well although I haven’t really given up on anything – especially not cheese! I am careful with alcohol – although not complete tee-totaler, I only drink in moderation when the occasion warrants it.

Since I have been back from holidays, I have had the biggest news (non health related thankfully) for a while by having my first offer on a flat accepted so now it’s all about paperwork, surveys and seeing my savings dwindling before I even have the keys…but I’ll finally will have my own place. For those who have been following me from the beginning, you might remember that I had literally just started looking at properties when I was diagnosed…it’s taken 2 years but it looks like I have finally done it!

Medically, I am as fit (even not fitter) than before I was diagnosed even though I am not officially curable anymore…fingers crossed, it will stay that way for a long time. If the worth I have to cope with are some stiff joints, hot flushes and meds to take for the rest of my life…well I can live with that (pun totally intended). It is a little inconvenient to have to deal with the monthly injection of Zoladex but as it is working, I am not going to complain.

My next check up is on 24th September, although as it won’t involve any blood test or scans, it will just be a question of an external physical.

I read somewhere that acupuncture can help with the joint pain so I am going to give it a go this Saturday (I’ll let you know how that works out…although at £45 a pop, I might not be able to do too many)…

Until then…keep healthy!

 

