I am 39 years old, single, French living in London for about 13 years. I don’t have kids, I don’t have pets. I love to travel, I love to read, go to the movies, head banging music, a good chinwag with my girls and beer time with the boys…

On the 8th November 2012, I was diagnosed with a ER+, HR2- Grade 2* invasive ductal carcinoma (breast cancer). It was like someone had smacked me hard in the face with a wet fish…

This is the story of my journey through the pains and the stress of dealing with breast cancer at an early age (which happens more often than you might think as it turns out). 1 in 8 women will be diagnosed with breast cancer during a life time and nobody thinks it will be them…I certainly didn’t.

This blog is for me to share all I have to go through for my own cathartic reasons and to keep my friends updated (my family can’t read English unfortunately) and if it helps someone else, even better.

*this was escalated to a Grade 3 in December 2012 following my sentinel node biopsy, where one node (out of 4 taken) came back positive.

*Disclaimer: However, please note that all the details on treatments, medications and side effects are from personal experience and should not be taken as a substitute for professional advice.*

Thank you for reading

Love and all…

Chymeera

If you want to contact me, feel free to comment on any of the posts or alternatively, you can email me at chymeeraa@gmail.com

About my alter ego…

***chimera:  1. (Greek mythology)A fire-breathing female monster with a lion’s head, a goat’s body, and a serpent’s tail or, 2. a thing which is hoped for but is illusory or impossible to achieve (http://oxforddictionaries.com)***

I have chosen my online persona’s name because of the mix in its definition. I like that it represents a fire-breathing female – although I am not sure about the goat’s body thing! – and that it is also something that represents a sort of a dream even if it says that it is impossible to achieve (makes me want to try harder!)…

Ten random things about me….

1. I love the colour purple
2. My English is becoming better than my French
3. I love big dogs
4. I talk a lot…I mean a lot!
5. I love the use of repetitive punctuation such as “…” or “!!!”
6. My favourite number is 22
7. I am an Aquarian
8. I love tattoos (and currently working on the design of my 3rd one)
9. I am a messy cook but the food always tastes good
10. I was 26 when I went to my first ever concert

© Copyright 2012 “Chymeera”. All Rights Reserved.